Delta State: Opuoru, others win PDP primaries

Post created on 4:54 pm



The Member Representing Warri South Constituency II at Delta State House of Assembly, Hon. Matthew Poko Opuoru, has won the PDP primary to fly the party’s flag for the constituency in the 2023 general elections, polling 10 votes compared to his closest rival, Dr. Michael Tidi, who garnered 6 votes.

The primary which held at Ojojo Primary School on Sunday saw Emuobo Judith Bazunu polling 4 votes to emerge second runner up.

The Returning Officer, Mr. Charles Ehiedu Aniagwu, who announced the result, commended the delegates, agents of the contestants for their cooperation.

Elsewhere, incumbent member representing Warri South Constituency 1 in Delta State House of Assembly, Dr. Augustine Uroye, polled 10 votes to narrowly defeat ex two – term Chairman of Warri South Local Government Area, Hon. Matthew Mofe Edema to pick PDP ticket for Warri South Constituency 1 ahead of the 2023 polls.

Hon. Edema, the only contender to Hon. Uroye, garnered 8 votes out of the 18 delegates that voted in the primary.

The story was not different in Warri North and Warri South – West Constituencies, as the incumbent members representing both constituencies, Hon. Fred Martins and Hon. Emomotimi Dennis Guwor, respectively, won the PDP tickets.

The daughter of former Governor James Ibori, Mrs. Erhiatake Ibori-Suenu, on Sunday failed to defeat the incumbent, Ben Igbakpa for Ethiope Federal Constituency seat during the party’s primary for the 2023 general elections.

The keenly contested primary ended in stalemate as both contestants polled 34 votes each.

Similarly, a former House of Representatives member, Evelyn Oboro, could not defeat the incumbent member representing Okpe, Sapele and Uvwie Federal Constituency, Chief Efe Afe, to emerge the party’s candidate as the primary also ended in deadlock as the trio of Oboro, Afe and Chief Napoleon Gbinije polled 25 votes each.

However, the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Ndudi Elumelu emerged PDP candidate to seek a re-election into the House of Representatives for Aniocha/Oshimili Federal Constituency.

The member representing Ika Federal Constituency, Victor Nwokolo, won the party primary to contest for the fourth term into the green chamber.

Also, a former member representing Ughelli South Constituency, Olorogun Talib Tebite, emerged the flag bearer of the PDP for the Ughelli North, Ughelli South and Udu Federal Constituency into the National Assembly.

Furthermore, the incumbent member representing Warri Federal Constituency at the Green Chamber, Chief Thomas Ereyitomi, picked the PDP ticket to contest for the 2023 election after defeating Hon. Smart Asekutu, who is the incumbent chairman of Warri North.

Ossai Nicholas Ossai, a third term member representing Ndokwa/Ukwuani Federal Constituency, failed to secure the ticket of the party after he lost to Nnamdi Ezechi, a DESOPADEC commissioner. Ezechi, polled 44 votes to defeat Ossai, who scored 24 votes.

In Isoko Federal Constituency, immediate past Commissioner for Power and Energy, Jonathan Ukodhiko polled 33 votes to defeat a former Managing Director of Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC) Bashorun Askia Ogieh who scored 21 votes.

The incumbent House of Assembly member representing Ughelli North Constituency 2, Eric Oharisi, has lost to a counselor in the PDP House of Assembly primaries, Onoriode Agofure.

Six aspirants contested for the primaries which was held on Sunday at the Ughelli Township stadium.

Onoriode Agofure pulled 10 votes while Eric Oharisi his closest rival pulled 5 votes.

Reacting, the People Democratic Party, PDP, Member Representing Ethiop East and Ethiop West Federal Constituency at the National Assembly, RT. Hon. Been Roland Igbakpa says the declaration of a tie between him and the former Governor of the State, Chief James Ibori’s daughter, Eriatake Ibori-Suenu, at the PDP Primary for the Ethiop east and west federal constituency seat doesn’t deter him as he believes it’s a testament that the people still have faith in him.

Hon Ben Roland Igbakpa speaking to newsmen at the Oghara Township Stadium in Ethiop West Local Government Area of Delta State, noted that the process was peaceful and all that is left is for the party hierarchy to decide the next action. He urged his supporters to be resolute and steadfast as the battle is not over until it is over.

The latest development on the people’s democratic primaries that took place today in Delta state, shows that a former member of the Delta State House of Assembly, Hon. Micheal Diden aka Ejele, won the ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Delta South Senatorial District. Ejele defeated three others to emerge the candidate of the party. Senator Ned Nwoko clinched the PDP ticket for the delta north senatorial district seat at the national assembly and Ighoyota Amori defeated John Nani won the People’s Democratic Party, PDP ticket for the delta central senatorial district seat.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Delta's Music Power

Current track